Author Topic: Undercoating, Sound Deadening  (Read 7161 times)

sammons

• Master Deluxe
Undercoating, Sound Deadening
« on: April 18, 2014, 02:31:08 PM »
I looked around and did not see any threads on this subject. I would like to know what others have tried, what materials were used, the application they used, and how well it worked/ lasted for them. We all know there are several ways of doing things that often stray from the original application instructions. Often I try things out of the ordinary due to availability and or price.

Also maybe what you have tried to keep them annoying wind noises out.

If this has already been discussed,  please reefer me to it, and delete or move to the appropriate place.

I was just posting with 62131 about what I use for undercoating and sound control. I have been using Total Coat "Sound Control" for close to 8 years now. I was amazed with the sound deadening quality of this product and it's ease of application. I used to use 3M Rubberized Undercoat in the rattle can. I thought it was a good undercoat, but did't do that much as far as deadening.

I spray the underside and the interior surfaces. Then I generally insulate the interior with a foil/bubble/foil that can be purchased at most building supply stores. I use 3M  General Spray Adhesive and foil tape at all seams. I like to put the insulation on all the interior surfaces Including the underside of the dash (for cars that have upper dash areas.

Please share what you used and how you liked it, thanks.   Sammons

munch

• Master Deluxe
Re: Undercoating, Sound Deadening
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 03:32:48 PM »
Sammons,

I to used the building supply stuff for sound deadening.  It is called Peel & Stick and it is from Lowes.  Cheap enough for multiple layers and does a good job.

sammons

• Master Deluxe
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 04:20:41 PM »