Author Topic: Intro and questions  (Read 19262 times)

RCstang

• Rookie
Intro and questions
« on: October 19, 2014, 06:32:00 PM »
This is my first time on this site so please excuse any questions that seem less informed.  I have a friend of our family who wants me to sell 3 cars for him, he's about 80 and not net savvy.  He has a 55 Hudson Hornet Coupe and a 55 Hudson Hornet Hollywood and a 33 Chevrolet coupe.  All 3 cars have been in a barn for over 20 years and this week I'm supposed to help him move, clean and start the selling process.  I'm not interested in the 2 Hudsons but I'd like to work a deal that involves me buying the 33 chevy.

The last time I saw the 33 it was restored to original and drivable.  Very nice vehicle.  But that's been a long time ago so I'm not sure what to expect.  I'd like to see it converted to a street rod with a small block chevy, since the engine is probably locked up anyway.  What advice can you guys give me regarding what to look for?  What to avoid?  What is a good frame for the conversion to street rod?  etc, etc.  Please feel free to share as many details or links as possible.

Hopefully I can get some pictures tomorrow or Tuesday.
Thanks,
Ron

TFoch

• Bowtie Moderator
  • Master Deluxe
Re: Intro and questions
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2014, 07:10:34 PM »
Hi Ron,
Welcome to the forum!  I hope you get the 33 Chevy and if you do this is a great site to get the info you need to help you get it done.  I have a 33 Chevy Cabriolet and I used the original frame.  I boxed it and and added Posie's leaf spring rear suspension and a TCI front coil over suspension.  It works great with the 350/290 hp Chevy small block I have in it.